The East Access
Avenue constitutes the entrance to the metropolitan area, and is
part of the Bio oceanic Corridor. The South Access Avenue is the
interdepartmental road. Its main communication roads are Adolfo
Calle and Elpidio González. The secondary are Las Cañas and
History: La Cañadita Alegre was formerly a small gorge through
which the water from the rain used to go down. The Mendocino
author Isidro Maza described it as “happy” referring to the
brightened up familiar meetings with music, singing and dancing.
In La Cañadita there used to be two comfortable houses: one of a
gentleman called “el negro Aguilar” and the other of the
“Chilean” Cuadros, where there used to be present good musicians
and singers. Among them there was the teacher of many
Mendocinean guitar players, el negro Ferreyra; Don Diogenes
Caballero, Homero Saldaña Molina – who used to play the piano
admirably; Dante Pelaia – author of the tune “Claveles
Mendocinos”. In addition, there was Julio Quintanilla – a poet
of recognized trajectory and the duet Cuadros-Morales that made
beautiful cuecas, zambas and songs like the “Sesenta
Granaderos”, “Flor de Guaymallén”, “La Movidita”, “Virgen de la
Carrodilla”, and others. Friends and admirers of Hilario Cuadros
built a bust to remember the singer of the Cañadita. By the
decree 1985/85, a new geographic ordering for the department and
this sector was called “Las Cañas”.
10-San Francisco del Monte
It is limited in the north by the streets Elpidio González,
Gutiérrez, Castro, Estrada, Azcuénaga, and F.Villanueva, in the
east by Curupayti Street, in the south by San Francisco del
Monte Street, and in the west by the South Access Avenue.
With an area of 4.14 square kilometres and a population of 6167
inhabitants, its population density is 1490 inhabitants per
There are two schools; however, there are no police station or
department, hospital or health centres.
Since the 80s important residential nuclei have been developed -
“private neighbourhoods” that have driven to the raise of the
prices of lands in this zone.
As an inter-departmental communication route, there is the
Urquiza Street, as the main roads: San Francisco del Monte,
Elpidio González Gutiérrez, Las Cañas, Azcuénaga, Curupayti, and
Estrada. As a secondary road: Castro Street.
History: This is one of the oldest territories of the department.
It was one of the first places occupied by the Spaniards, along
with San José. Sixty years before the foundation of Villa Nueva,
in San Francisco del Monte magnificent mansions were being built
with a very well defined construction style, near the irrigation
channels. This was an important population center for the time;
it was sufficiently far from the city of Mendoza to offer a
space of discretion and tranquillity. This situation was taken
advantage of by the persecuted ones that found in these lands an
asylum against the oppression, a refuge that would keep them
safe from the confrontations between Unitarians and Federals. In
San Francisco del Monte, there was one of the most important
agricultural-cattle possessions of the last century. The
Franciscan friars even had a farm and retirement house. That is
where the name of the district comes from.
It is limited in the north by the East Access Avenue, in the
east by the Pescara Canal, in the south by the street San
Francisco del Monte, and in the west by Curupayti Street.
With an area of 3.63 square kilometres and a population of 6875
inhabitants, its population density is 1894 inhabitants per
There are two schools, two health centres, and there are no
police stations or police departments.